Local & Family
History Society


Cymdeithas Hanes
Lleol & Theuluoedd


This alphabetical gazetteer of Breconshire place-names indicates under which of our main parish pages each entry will be found. Some of these places later became parishes in their own right, but we describe them under the name of the 'ancient parish' in which they were originally situated.
Note: As with the rest of our Parish Pages feature, the gazetteer is very much a work in progress. The entries in the gazetteer may be rearranged and amended over the next few weeks until a more permanent arrangement is produced.

Place-name Parish page
Brynmawr Llanelly
Capel Illtyd Defynnog
Callwen Defynnog
Capel Taf-fechan Llanddeti
Capel-y-ffin Llanigon
Castle (extra parochial) Brecon St John
Cefn Coed-y-cymer Vaynor
Crai Defynnog
Dyffryn Honddu Merthyr Cynog
Glyntawe Defynnog
Llanfaes Brecon St David
Lower Chapel Llanfihangel Fechan
Nant Ddu Cantref
Newchurch Llandulas
Penpont Llanspyddid
Rhyd-y-bryw Llywel
Traeanglas Llywel
Tretower Llanfihangel Cwmdu
Upper Chapel Merthyr Cynog